Friday, September 4, 2015

Montana Adds Three Species to their Noxious Weed List

If you don't know what the U.S. Noxious Weed Lists are, here is are some quick facts:

  • Separate Federal and State, and even some local/municipal/county lists exist
  • Federal Noxious Weed List was established by the Federal Noxious Weed Act of 1974, was amended in 1990, and then was superseded by the Plant Protection Act in 2000
  • State and local lists can be created by different agencies in each state
  • Plants are added based on their ability to damage the environment, cause harm to persons, or disrupt the economy
  • Federally - Movement of listed plant species is restricted (without a permit)
  • Many of the plants were added specifically for their impact on agriculture or natural areas

As of July, 2015, Montana added three new invasive species to their state Noxious Weed List:

Parrot Feather Watermilfoil (Myriophyllum aquaticum [pictured] or M. brasiliense) by Graves Lovell, Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources,

Brazilian waterweed (Egeria densa) by U.S. Geological Survey Archive, U.S. Geological Survey,

common reed (Phragmites australis ssp. australis) by Caleb Slemmons, National Ecological Observatory Network,
These are all plants that are found in or near water.  They can choke out native plant species, thus minimizing the food sources for many aquatic species, and they can also dramatically alter the available light and nutrients.

Want to know more about these species and where they are found?

Common Reed - Maps, Species Information, and Images
Brazilian waterweed - Maps, Species Information, Wiki Article, and Images
Myriophyllum aquaticum - Maps, Species Information, Wiki Article, and Images

Source Article: State Adds Three New Invasive Plants to Noxious Weed List